Alpha Delta Kappa
                       California Beta Eta Chapter

International Honorary Sorority for Women Educators


Αlpha Delta Κappa 

International Honorary Sorority for Women Educators

     California Beta Eta Chapter


Alpha Delta Kappa is an international honorary organization of women educators dedicated to educational excellence, altruism and world understanding.


Alpha Delta Kappa was founded in 1947 by Agnes Shipman Robertson, Marie Neal, Marion Southhall and Hattie Poppino, visionary women who saw a need to recognize and support the professional efforts of outstanding women educators.  Headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri, Αlpha Delta Kappa today has over 50,000 members in nearly 1000 chapters located in every state in the United States, and around the world in Australia, Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

Monday evening, January 6, 1964, at the home of Rosemary Sawtelle, the California Beta Eta chapter of Alpha Delta Kappa was initiated by the Sacramento Chapter.  Charter members include:

Dorothy Adams

Zona Berry

Gertrude Bobb

Peggy DuBose

Catheryn Gates

Thelma Halliday

Betty Hansen

Doris Lowry

Beth Moomey

Mabel Sargeant

Ethel Scott

Florence Toward

Gloria Webster

Margaret Trimble



The purpose of Alpha Delta Kappa shall be to promote the purposes set forth in Article II of the Constitution of Alpha Delta Kappa Sorority, Incorporated, viz:

a. To give recognition to outstanding women educators.

b. To build a fraternal fellowship among women in the field of education which will add to their effectiveness in the promotion of excellence in education.

c. To promote high standards of education and thereby strengthen the status and advancement of the education profession.

d. To promote educational and charitable projects and activities, to sponsor scholarships, to further and maintain worthy standards in the field of education and to cooperate with worthy community programs relating to education and charities.

e. To contribute to world understanding, goodwill and peace through an international fellowship of women educators united in the ideals of education.